ALBUM REVIEW: Bobaflex – Eloquent Demons

ALBUM REVIEW: Bobaflex – Eloquent Demons

Band – Bobaflex
Album – Eloquent Demons
Release DateAugust 25, 2017

Track List:
1 – Eloquent Demons (Intro)
2 – I Am Nightmare
3 – Long Time Coming
4 – Say You Will
5 – Lights Out
6 – Real Sadness
7 – Off With Your Head
8 – Moon And Shadows
9 – Hey You
10 – Reckless

Bobaflex are:

Marty McCoy – guitar / vocals
Shaun McCoy – guitar / vocals
Dave Tipple – guitar / vocals
Tommy Johnson – drums
Jymmy Tolland – bass


Overall Impression:
First I want to start by saving I am and always have been a huge Bobaflex fan so to be asked to do this review is just amazing. With that said …

In typical Bobaflex style this album will satisfy all of your musical sensations.  To accompany the in your face rock and roll we are accustomed to there is a hint of so much more.  Take the track “Real Sadness” that single track alone hits you with the heart breaking lyrics, a muddy blues break that is brilliant and into an alternative rock infused 2nd half.  Moving onto “Off With Your Head” it will give you that satisfying ballad style song however more twisted lyrics than in your “typical” ballad.  However, we have all, and I mean ALL OF US lived those lyrics and have the battle scars to boot.  The track “Lights Out” will have you flippin’ your middle finger while singing this song loudly at the bar.  “Say What You Will” gives a little pop flare to a dope rock song that works.  Don’t think may other bands could have done it and it actually work brilliantly.

Bobaflex opts on the album to cover the iconic “Hey You” (original by Pink Floyd in case you live under a rock).  Now, taking on a MEGA classic is going to be either AMAZING or well the opposite of that.  The Bobaflex cover is, well, let me just be blunt here … FUCKING INSANE AMAZING!!! The band did not change the passion in an already iconic song however they put their own very slight twist on it.  The guitars are award worthy.  The haunting vocals sent chills thru every single part of my body.  I listened to the track probably about 10 times back to back before I finally had to remind myself I still had a few more songs to review.  Bottom line this track, this version of an iconic song had me engulfed with those feelings, those chills, every sensation imaginable that reminds you why I fucking love music so much.

9 amazing tracks, 1 cool intro though I wont lie, I replayed the Eloquent Demons (Intro) a second time and the second time put it on surround sound to get the full effect.  Trust me… DO THAT.
Not a single track is going to disappoint.  The risks that were taken vocally alone by sampling different styles/pitches/tones is amazing.  The guitar work so clean, crisp, noteworthy and flat out amazing.  The drums produced the exact heartbeat that was needed to make the tracks what they needed to be.  The bass was so relevant in rounding out 9 amazing tracks especially in the track “Real Sadness“.

I am 1 person giving my 1 opinion on tracks/records and some may agree some may disagree. That is the beauty of any piece of art, each person sees it different.  When it comes down to it I am in radio and I am NOT a journalist nor do I pretend to play one on TV so please no grammar police etc.



Kristin Kupiec

August 25th, 2017

No comments

Comments are closed.


Enjoy this site? Please spread the word \m/